Losing someone young versus when one is older can have different affects. However, that might be because everyone deals with loss differently, whether they are young or old. Some losses can be more peaceful than others or more violent than others. For example, I experienced loss for the first time in sixth grade. I remember my grandfather and I being close. When I discovered he had cancer, I was in shocked and scared. Even though he had cancer, I still tried to make the last moments with him as special as they could be. It was that actual day that he passed that I was not the same. Out of my sisters and I, I took it the worst. I cried and blamed myself for not visiting him enough. To this day, I know I cannot go back and share more moments with him. However, I deal with his loss in the best way I can. By knowing he was surrounded by family and he is no longer is in pain anymore, I can move on and just remember the memories we had together.

I wouldn’t say that one gets over death or loss, but nearly copes with it.

I was always told and learned that there are five stages of grief: denial (shock/disbelief), anger (mad about the situation), bargaining (change the situation with something else), depression (sadness decides decisions), and acceptance (making peace with the situation). I went through all of them when I was going through my loss.

According to Kylee Wierks from Fox 59 news, “In JEFFERSONVILLE, Ind. (September 16, 2014) – A southern Indiana man is charged with brutally murdering his ex-girlfriend and eating parts of her body.” Imagine losing a family member this way. To know that they were murder, cut to pieces and then eaten. It would be tragic and horrifying.

One has to remember steps that best help them cope with loss. Support from others is definitely a good system to have. I know that it was helpful for me to have someone else to talk to about my grandfather that felt the same way as me. Even if they don’t feel the same way as you, it is nice to have someone that cares about your feelings. Another thing one can do is take care of themselves. Even though the situation one can go through seems like the worst situation possible. It is best to worry about oneself too and take care of one’s health. For example, if one is in school, they should still focus on school even with a horrible situation.

When depression sets in or one’s grief does not go away, it might be best to seek professional help.

For more information, go to these sites below!

http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/hecat/pdf/hecat_module_meh.pdf

http://fox59.com/2014/09/16/indiana-man-charged-with-brutally-murdering-ex-girlfriend-consuming-parts-of-her-body/?flv=1

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/grief_loss.htm

One response »

  1. Jackson Berry says:

    I liked how at the end of this post you said that it may be best to seek professional help if depression sets in or one’s grief doesn’t go away, but I have to disagree with you, sort of. If you have a leak in your house, would you call the roofing guy right away to come look at it or would you wait until your roof collapses and then have a roofer come look at it. I think we can both agree that you would call the roofer right away to avoid having your roof cave in. The same is with grief. After losing a loved one, would you rather seek professional help right away to help you develop proper coping strategies and have someone to talk to about it or would you rather wait until you have developed a mental health problem that could put your life in danger. When you put it like that, I think the choice is clear. It is always best to be proactive about a potential mental health problem, a task which is much easier said than done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

